New Georgia Law Makes 4th DUI Within 10 Years a Felony

Beginning July 1, 2009, penalties for DUI’s in Georgia have been made more severe:

  • Anyone charged with a 4th DUI within a 10 year period will be subject to a felony charge that can result in a prison sentence of one to five years
  • Anyone charged with a 3rd DUI within a 10 year period will be charged with aggrevated misdemeanor charges that can result in prison time of up to 1 year and fines higher than a 1st or 2nd offender would pay.
  • Convicted or guilty plea first time offenders must attend an alcohol abuse and treatment program in addition to a safe driving school

These enhanced penalties further dictate that anyone charged with DUI should seek legal counsel.  The days when DUI defendants could please “nolo” and go about their business are over.

Speak Your Mind

*